top of page

A poor month for getting fit

I suppose that I can blame the weather but that wouldn't be altogether fair. Or I could blame the time that I've needed to spend on other commitments, but that hasn't been the whole story. I can use my wife as an excuse - she had an operation on her foot earlier in March and I've had to act as driver, cook and general gofer for at least some of the time that I should have spent walking the byways of the south-west.

The whole period has been topped off by an Easter visitation from two grandchildren who demand a lot of attention. Whilst seen and not heard may be unfashionable, even archaic, it does have some merits, though Anna and James are delightful. So we're almost at April Fools Day with no walk planned but an urgent need to get one under my belt.

The month has not been altogether wasted. If you're reading this you will know that the website is reasonably complete and that a donations site has been set up. I have also bought a new tent that should not leak, is light (in weight) and in which I can just sit upright. I have some new boots which are slowly becoming accustomed to my feet and I've got some new contact lenses which will enable me to read a map and see the surroundings at more less the same time.

Some information about education programmes has come from Christian Aid and I've included some of that on the website. I've made a commitment to raising another £10,000 - probably a tall order the second time round but it seems worth trying. So in these and many other respects the walk is getting set up - I just need to get fit! Wish me well and please tell anyone who might be remotely interested that the walk is ON.

Tags:

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
    bottom of page